Paul, a Witness

Paul was arrested, more than once, for telling people about Jesus. Yet, he did it anyway. Why? Why would he willingly move from a position of respect and privilege, to a role as a fugitive and tormented individual? Why would he change from a persecutor of Christians to an apostle and servant of the Lord?

In his testimony before the Roman consul Agrippa, Paul related the words of Jesus, from their encounter on the road to Damascus.

“I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting. But get up and stand on your feet; for this purpose I have appeared to you, to appoint you a minister and a witness not only to the things which you have seen, but also to the things in which I will appear to you; rescuing you from the Jewish people and from the Gentiles, to whom I am sending you, to open their eyes so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the dominion of satan to God, that they receive forgiveness of sins and an inheritance among those who have been sanctified by faith in Me.”

Paul’s faith was strong, and he understood what was at stake… a battle for the souls of men. What if he hadn’t been willing to answer the mission given to him on the road to Damascus? He was the perfect example of the great commission…

“‘Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.’”

Eventually, Paul was executed by Nero. Until the very end, he maintained his faith Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

Let It Start With Me

Author: KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox

Leave a comment