Diagnostic Mammogram Update

First let me say that the mammogram test was not nearly as bad as I dreaded. Please do not follow my example as the coward who took seven years to get this important screening done.

The biggest toll on me of the whole experience was the exhaustion of just getting ready, traveling to the hospital (only a few miles, but still hard on me), getting around the hospital and getting back home. Of course, just having a bath nearly wore me out, as it always does.

The mammogram did reveal a small lump at the top of my right breast requiring extra scans and an ultrasound of the area. The good news is that the doctor thought that both that lump and the lump under my right arm were just cysts but cautioned me to continue to self examine because mammograms don’t always detect cancer. (Somehow, that didn’t inspire as much confidence as I had hoped I’d get).

It really scared me when the mammogram showed that spot, so I decided I would get my yearly mammograms from now on. What if the report hadn’t been a good one?

Author: KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox

Leave a Reply

