Besides Treatments

Besides treatments, good friends are the best medicine I have. I’ve found that by simply talking to, and spending time with, my friends leads me to happiness and a desire to push myself toward being the most whole person I can be.

While I realize that many of my “gifts” from Lyme disease will be permanent, I have realized that my state of mind is crucial to living the best life possible for me.

My good friends have shown me that. They have made me want to advocate to help others before they reach the place I am in. Don’t push away your friends because “you don’t want them to see you like this.” For a long time, I did just that. Now that I have overcome the embarrassment of my physical condition (somewhat), I’ve learned that friendship can do almost as much to save me as the medicines to which I owe my life.

Author: KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox

Leave a Reply

